Orisons (1996)

Track Title Length
1 A Wish 1' 34"
2 An Instrument of your Peace 1' 40"
3 A Prayer For Creation 2' 7"
4 A Closing Door 2' 46"
5 A Prayer For All 1' 50"
6 Persecution 1' 29"
7 The Empty Vessel 1' 57"
8 Silent Prayer 4' 39"
9 God's Lily 1' 29"
10 Devotion 3' 7"
11 Paul's Prayer 1' 33"
12 Prayers of Prophets 3' 3"
13 David's Great Prayer 3' 2"
14 The Lord's Prayer 3' 27"
15 God's Creatures 0' 55"
16 Egyptian Doxology 0' 56"
17 Trust 1' 14"
18 Alone With Him 1' 44"
19 The Family 1' 59"
20 The Only God 3' 35"
21 Thank-you 2' 46"
22 An Evening Prayer 1' 39"

Orisons (1996)

Artist List
Artist Name Instrument
Rick Wakeman Keyboards
David Paton Bass
Mary Hobdell Narration
Nina Wakeman Narration
Ramon Remedios Vocals (Tenor)
The Bishop of Sodor & Man Narration
The New Gospels Choir Choir

Orisons (Orisons)

Type Cat No. Label Country
CD HRHCD 003 Hope Records UK
Cassette HRMC 003 Hope Records UK

Orisons (1996)

Miscellaneous Information
Equipment Studio Engineering
• Kurzweil
• Korg
• Technics
• Voice Crystal Sound Cards
• Bajonor Studios, Isle of Man during June 1996 • Stuart Sawney

Rick's Perspective
This was based around the original prayers and reading on the original Prayers album. It contains background keyboards with the spoken word by my ex-wife. Therefore it will not be re-pressed when current stocks have run out!
Wakey's Verdict
I liked it at the time!!!
Little Known Trivia
Orisons is an old English word for prayers.

Andy Long on 02/04/2003 [Other reviews by Andy Long ]

To paraphrase the infamous office poster : you don't have to be a Christian to enjoy this - but it helps! Orisons draws heavily on the previous album 'Prayers' and opens with the beautiful 'A Wish' from 'The New Gospels'. The title itself is actually an old English term meaning 'Prayers' and, like the aforementioned release, 'Orisons' brings together a collection of prayers, some from The Bible, others from great theologians like Martin Luther and Francis of Assissi and even one by Rick's Great Grandfather. All are set to appropriately ambient music and are narrated by Nina, Mary Hobdell and the Bishop of Sodor and Man. Like it's partner album 'The Word And Music' this is going to appeal mainly to Rick's Christian fanbase but I think that it's meditative quality would be enjoyed by fans of some of his new age stuff too.